top of page

An Afternoon at The Peninsula


One of the loveliest aspects of living in Tokyo are the numerous hotels that serve afternoon tea. Ranging from the Four Seasons to the Peninsula to the Shangri-La and the Conrad, tea is as ubiquitous as you’d expect with prices for everyone’s budget. I think that’s very nice. Comfort in a cup should be available to everyone and last week, on my son’s first day of school, I was in need of just that.

Having been to the Peninsula in Beverly Hills I was interested to see how the tea service would differ in Japan. The setting was warm and modern, the tea itself having flavors complimentary to the season and region, and while some leaves (and champagne) were exclusive to the Peninsula Tokyo, the traditional organic teas were present on the menu. I was delighted. My daughter’s favorite is Earl Grey and since she’s been on my mind quite a lot I requested a pot.

While waiting I looked through a local magazine, skimming backwards no less, and between the images and sips of champagne my service began to appear. Full disclosure: it was possibly the best Earl Grey I’ve ever had. Sorry Twinings, but I’ve found a new favorite blend. It was soft and soothing, the perfect temperature and it paired beautifully with the sweets and savories.

This is where I began to really enjoy myself. It wasn’t so much about the flavor of the food-which was very good-but what was put into them. The art in the presentation. I haven’t been to any afternoon or high tea's where care the details were overlooked, but there is a sameness to many that I’m not finding in Tokyo...and I like that. They stay true to their location while observing the traditional format. By playing to the fruits of the season, the flavors that are at their richest and ripest, and making sandwiches that are more playful takes on the norm, using locally sourced vegetables, seafood and meats, they create a very unique afternoon tea that’s impossible to resist.

I certainly didn’t, and yes, that is a beautifully prepared quail’s egg on top of the ham and cheese roulade. Combine that with the warm peach scone and mojito white-chocolate pastry and you have an idea of the delicious variety made available. Obviously I encourage everyone to go and enjoy an afternoon of tea at the Peninsula, but after, if you’re still able to walk about and aren’t feeling too sleepy, head down the spiral staircase across from the main elevator bank. You’ll find yourself in a sugar-spun candy land where either side of the hallway shows the pastry creators hard at work!

It was a little bonus for this mama and a nice way to end my afternoon.

This week I’m making plans to continue my tea tour of Tokyo and I’d like your help! Pick a hotel-any of these three-to help me on my way: The Imperial Hotel, The Grand Hyatt, or The Ritz-Carlton. One thing they all have in common? Simply amazing views of the city and that’s what I’m seeking. Share your thoughts and thank you so much for stopping by.

Photo courtesy of the Ritz-Carlton Tokyo

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
!
Widget Didn’t Load
Check your internet and refresh this page.
If that doesn’t work, contact us.
bottom of page