top of page

Find Me: At DUMBO Doughnuts


Okay. Perhaps you shouldn’t try to find me at DUMBO’s today, but once this typhoon passes, sure! Come and find me perched atop one of the six stools in DUMBO Donuts, sipping coffee and looking onto the streets of Azabu-Juban. Considering the size of their decadent confections I’ll be there a while.

First things first. While I’m not sure of the intention behind DUMBO being in all capitals, it almost feels unnecessary. You see, there’s no need to shout your name to the rooftops when the food does it for you, and at DUMBO’s the product really does speak for itself. These donuts pack freshness and big flavor into every single bite. This may be why a tiny donut store has such a huge following: it lives up to the hype of being NYC inspired by serving up large, yeasty treats with sometimes traditional, though more often than not unique, flavors.

My first trip to this local shop was on a Sunday and I was very deliberate in planning to be there when it opened at 9 am. I’m an early bird so this wasn’t a big deal for me, but the reason I did this is because at most sweet shops you can expect a queue, and the smaller the store, the longer the queue. Thankfully I was the first in the door and my lord what a treat that was!

Not only did I get my choice of the first donuts of the day, I was able to watch them making them. Right there, right in front of me, I was able to observe how they made these sumptuous donuts and here’s what I learned. The dough is a top-secret recipe. You can ask what goes into it beyond the obvious, but mum’s the word-or perhaps the word is mmmmm. They’re not overly sweet, but with over ten kinds of specialty flavored donuts that are so big you really do need two hands to hold them, you’ll be thankful for this.

The thing about the donuts at DUMBO’s is that they’re denser with a chewy texture. It’s different from that melt in your mouth Krispy Kreme effect but no less wonderful. What can I say? I love a good donut, and if the flavor is good, the dough fresh, the heart put into each step from proofing to drizzled toppings to presentation, how can you not? It’s all about balance. In your hands, on your tastebuds, even on the two shelves of gorgeously appointed treats. You’ll find the delicious and fragrant framboise, matcha cream cheese, toasted coconut playing a creative juxtoposition to the more traditional cinnamon sugar, salted chocolate caramel and glazed.

It’s hard to choose just one so don’t, but if I had to make a recommendation it would be for these three: cinnamon sugar donut bites, framboise, and the oreo-cookie donut stuffed with ice cream. This one will require you to sit and eat on site, but it’s worth it. Grab a cup of their coffee in a pretty pink cup, eat, people watch, and when you’re done, get some to go. You’ll need to eat it within 24 hours to get the best bite, but something tells me you’ll have plenty of helping hands-and mouths-ready to do so.

DUMBO Donuts: completely deserving of an all capital name and worthy of a visit. Local friends, let me know what you think!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
!
Widget Didn’t Load
Check your internet and refresh this page.
If that doesn’t work, contact us.
bottom of page