top of page

In a Snap: Let’s Catch Up!


As most of y’all know from my Instagram and Facebook accounts (or if you’ve actually seen me in the past few days) I’ve been down with a nasty stomach virus. It’s been a very long, very uncomfortable 13 days which for the majority of I thought I’d been suffering the side effects of a cleanse or food poisoning. Thank goodness for a nurse friend and doctor that figured things out.

As of today I feel like I’ve finally turned a corner. Alleluia!

 

But you don’t want to hear all about stomach bugs and my being on the BRAT diet. I don’t want to hear all about stomach bugs and my being on the BRAT diet. Let’s pour a cup of peppermint tea and play catch up instead. Sound good? I think so, too!

We are officially a little over a month out from our move to Tokyo so we’ve been making the most of our time, enjoying every moment. Some of my friends threw me a surprise party and as I said after that wonderful afternoon: blessings were counted, not the glasses of champagne, because believe me friends I indulged. One of our hostesses has a friend who caters for fun and the spread was like something out of a movie. From an avocado toast bar (do my friends love me or do they love me?) to the most gorgeously ridiculous red velvet cupcakes, my heart was as full as my belly. The time spent with these women was precious, and the friendship they’ve offered, the memories they've been part of these past six years, will keep them forever in a very special place in my heart.

Most of our Tokyo furniture has arrived. We’ve invested in quite a few lovely pieces from Restoration Hardware and they should complement our antiques beautifully. That said they’re big pieces and our entire living area looks like a big cardboard box. Any ideas where we’re going to place the mattresses, sofa, and sideboards when they arrive? Because I have zero. Absolutely none.

We saw Infinity War. We laughed in Infinity War. We yelled in Infinity War. We cried in Infinity War. I think we need therapy from Infinity War. Waquonda forever!

This dumb stomach virus kept me home this past weekend and away from Justin Timberlake. That said, Madeline enjoyed the heck out of her 18th birthday gift (two seats on the floor) and was able to see JT and the Tennessee Kids up close and personal. Special shout out to my friend Jen, her cousin Donna, and the always sweet Sherri for taking the girls and being supremely amazing! As Justin would say, ain't another woman that can take your spot...

And that, in a snap, is what we’ve been up to. Come back tomorrow when I share where you can go locally to run for the roses on this Saturday’s Kentucky Derby-or, as we’ve jokingly referred to it, Kentucky Derby de Mayo.

Will you be celebrating with a mint julep this weekend or a margarita? Both? Let me know! I’d love to hear from you.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
!
Widget Didn’t Load
Check your internet and refresh this page.
If that doesn’t work, contact us.
bottom of page