top of page

Pinkies Up!

3 generations. 1 favorite tradition. Afternoon Tea.

My mother ingrained in me an appreciation for quiet time and scones by the hearth at a very young age. I continued the practice with my daughter. It’s a special few hours

together, and whether it’s in the comfort of our home or in different hotels in the cities we travel to, being able to slow down and silence the noise in our lives is such a blessing. And tasty!

In New York that meant visiting one of my favorite places to take tea, and possibly the most elegant: The Plaza’s iconic Palm Court.

 

The Palm Court was inspired by the lush greenery of nearby Central Park. Inside you’ll see climbing trellises and as expected, potted palms, but the stand out features are the refurbished stained-glass dome reminiscent of the one built in 1907 and center-placed bar.

It had been a few years since I’d last enjoyed tea here and at that time it was with my mother. To share this experience as a mother myself was incredibly sweet (especially with the company). After going through the options, including the Eloise Tea that carries delectably spun cotton candy in bright pink, we chose the champagne tea and settled in for several hours after a long walk through the Park. Don’t let the pictures fool you, we may have cheered with both glasses of Veuve but I was the one to enjoy them! Thoroughly.

Madeline chose Earl Grey for our tea and as the pots and treats arrived, I couldn’t help but marvel that as large as the room is, there is an intimacy and closeness to each sitting area. We were given a lovely corner seating. Perfect for people watching, from tea sandwiches, to scones, to the marvelous little dessert bites created by pastry Chef Matthew Lambie, it was an experience in refinement and grandeur. A visit to the Champagne Bar directly after was the proverbial cherry on top.

It was a perfect afternoon, as my Daddy would say, of pinkies up!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
!
Widget Didn’t Load
Check your internet and refresh this page.
If that doesn’t work, contact us.
bottom of page